If Your Name’s Not Down

Standard

Players can often look at a sign-up sheet at a convention and think “I’m not playing with him” or similar.  In fact, its remarkably easy to be selective as a player.  But what if you’re running the game?  What if you’ve had a bad experience with certain people and they rock up to your game time and again?  What if they write up lengthy posts criticising your every decision in a session or bad mouth you in the bar to half the convention (before gleefully turning up for more next time round)?

We Want You?

We Want You?

Should GM’s have the right to veto players?  Should they be allowed to cross names out on a sign up sheet and say “I don’t want them in my game”? I’m not a massive fan of discrimination for the sake of it, or having a line up of players and GM’s picking the “best” ones like some kind of Dodgeball line up, with only the geeky kids left at the end… lets face it, *most* of the players would lean towards the geeky end – we’re all geeks after all.  (Oh yes we are.)

Not sure what the solution is here.  I know from experience that I’ve had Bad Players – one’s that doing fit in with the game I want to run and are going to sit there for four hours criticising, or attempting to run off on their own the whole time and hog the limelight, or be disruptive, or rude, or whatever.  I don’t want some of them back.  Some may have changed though.

Of course as soon as I stop people playing my games, that gives others the licence to ban me from theirs too.  I might be shocked and hurt by some of the people I suddenly find that do this. Definitely some room for thought here – but its good to have the idea out there to think about.

2 thoughts on “If Your Name’s Not Down

  1. Well, having crossed someone out you then get to look at the reserves (has anyone ever gotten into a game as a reserve?) so you shouldn’t be short of players. But your question is, how do you say no to a real person standing in front of you, all expectant like.
    Ideally, the feeling runs both ways and they won’t sign up for your game in the first place. Otherwise, you just have to front it out I guess. I’d struggle to do that in all honesty. I might even ask an organiser to do it for me (I’m just being honest, don’t judge me).
    I dunno. Tricky…

  2. If it is a public game and the venue has no problem with the player I would let them play, but warn them of the behavior that would get them put out of the game. I have thick skin and if it is just me they are bugging they can stay, but if they are disrupting the other players I won’t hesitate to chuck them out.

Leave a Reply

